Haiti: President Martelly Appoints Dozen Municipal Officials to Elected Seats

Written by

Friday, 24 February 2012 06:38

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti (defend.ht) - President Michel Martelly appointed municipal officials to replace elected mayors in over a dozen municipalities. Without elections, the executive was forced to appoint cartels to head localities.

By Presidential Order dated February 18, 2012, Cartel municipal officers were appointed to the municipalities of Maniche, Arniquet, Mirebalais, Saut D'Eau, Camp Perin, Saint Marc, Savanete, Anse Rouege, Lascahobas, Belladers, Boucan Carrv, L'Estere et Ennery. Only the South, Centre and Artibonite departments are concerned by these provisions.

But the president of the Federation of Mayors of Haiti, Pierre Charles Moise, denounced a plan by the executive to replace elected mayors with appointed cartels. He urged the Interior Minister to meet commitments that he made to hold elections.

Recalling that Minister Thierry Mayard Paul had recently assured that replace elected politicians, Mr Charles Pierre said fear of confrontation that could lead to civil war.

Mayors had during working sessions with Minister of Interior obtained a guarantee that they will continue in office until the organization of municipal elections. Some MPs have condemned the decision arguing that the mayors will also be candidates could influence the elections.

The president of the Federation of Mayors calls his colleagues to fight to protect the constitutional and democratic achievements. He noted that the Interior Ministry could only appoint agents to replace dysfunctional councils.

Constitution of Haiti
Communes have administrative and financial autonomy. Each Commune of the Republic is administered by a Council, known as the Municipal Council, of three (3) members elected by universal suffrage.